Caitlin Vaughan

Caitlin Vaughan

Winners Announced for 2016 International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards

The International Seafarers' Welfare Awards 2016 are being launched today. For seafarers, welfare services and facilities can be a lifeline when working away from home for long periods of time.

The winners of the 2015 International Seafarers' Welfare Awards were announced on Tuesday 9th June during a high profile ceremony hosted by Secretary General of the International Maritime Organization, Mr Koji Sekimizu at the International Maritime Organisation (IMO) in London.

The most difficult challenge, says Chief Cook, Aldwin Silverio, is "being away from my family, especially for me, because I'm a newly-wed".

Being nominated in the top five ports of the world for three consecutive years 2010, 2011 and 2012 in the category "Port of the Year" and finally being selected by the ICSW (now ISWAN) as the "Port of the Year – 2012" was indeed a great honor for Kandla and the nation India.

The challenges of our everyday life, says seafarer Walter Torres, "is the loneliness – being away from the family".