2018 Seafarers' Centre of the Year Judges

2018 Seafarers' Centre of the Year Judges

Born in Denmark 1969, Robert joined A.P Moller-Maersk in 1989. From 1991 to 2004, Robert lived and worked for Maersk Line in Hong Kong and P.R.China, ultimately taking responsibility for the Greater China organisation. In 2004, Robert moved to the USA and returned to the A.P Moller-Maersk head office in Copenhagen in 2007, taking responsibility for the global Maersk Line network.

Robert joined Wrist Ship Supply in 2010 as CEO, and works out of the HQ in Aalborg, Denmark. He oversees the global operation and development of the world’s largest ship chandler. Seafarers’ welfare is a key concern of Wrist Ship Supply, which aims to be recognized for making their customers’ life at sea better.

Jan Oltmanns was born 1956 in Esens in North Germany. He went to Hamburg in 1975 to work in the Seamen´s Rest in Altona, and in 1978 he worked in the first German seamen´s club in Bremerhaven. He became a Deacon of Christ in 1983 and worked in a parish in Hamburg. Since 1986 he has been the Managing Director of DUCKDALBEN International Seamen´s Club in the Port of Hamburg.

Tomas Abrahamsson is currently Acting Head of the ITF Seafarers’ Trust and 1st Vice Chair of ITF Seafarers’ Section. He is a member of both the ITF Executive Board and the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC).

Tomas was formerly Vice President of Seko, ITF Acting Maritime Coordinator, and President of the EU Sectoral Social Dialogue Committee in Maritime Transport.

Jason Zuidema (PhD, McGill University) is the Executive Director of the North American Maritime Ministry Association (namma.org) and General Secretary of the International Christian Maritime Association (icma.as). Among his projects in seafarers’ welfare are editing The MARE Report magazine, producing the Ship Welfare Visitor Course online for the UK Merchant Navy Welfare board and serving as executive committee member of ISWAN's Port Welfare Partnership Project. He lives in Montreal, Canada, where he previously served on staff at the Port of Montreal Seafarers' Centre.