23 February 2018

We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2018 International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards.

These are the companies, organisations and individuals who have offered exceptional levels of welfare services and facilities to seafarers. The competition for the top candidates in four awards categories was intense and hard fought, and the following shortlisted entrants are now in with a chance of winning an award at our ceremony held at the International Labour Organization (ILO) in Switzerland:

Port of the Year
Port of Barcelona, Spain
Port of Brisbane, Australia
Port Houston, USA
Port of Montreal, Canada
Port of Rotterdam, Netherlands
Port of Singapore, Singapore

Seafarers’ Centre of the Year
Durban Seafarers’ Mission, South Africa
Liverpool Seafarers’ Centre, UK
Mariners’ House of Montreal, Canada
Mission to Seafarers Brisbane, Australia
SCI Philadelphia, USA
United Seafarers’ Mission Tauranga, New Zealand

Shipping Company of the Year
P&O Ferries
Scorpio Ship Management

The Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year
Dan Tolentino, International Maritime Employers’ Council (IMEC)
David Rozeboom, Mariners’ House Montreal
Jasper de Rosario, Sailors’ Society
Maggie Whittingham-Lamont, The Mission to Seafarers

International Maritime Employers’ Council (IMEC)
Nautilus Welfare Fund

The winner of each category will now be decided by our judging panel of experts from across the maritime industry – view the judges’ profiles here. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on 23rd April 2018, to be held at the ILO headquarters in Geneva. The awards will be presented by Guy Ryder, Director-General of the ILO.